Now with PhD!

This Friday, the 23rd of April, I defended my thesis ‘People’s responses to autonomous and adaptive systems’ at the University of Amsterdam’s Agnietenkapel and was granted a PhD.

Paranimf Mattijs, me and my diploma. By Jochem Liem.

After a volcano almost prevented me from actually being in Amsterdam for my defense, actually hearing the beadle utter the words ‘hora est’ after the committee’s questions was great. Special thanks to my promotores Bob Wielinga & Vanessa Evers, my committee, including Noel Sharkey who stayed up until 5 AM to skype in, and of course paranimf Mattijs Ghijsen who watched my back.

2 thoughts on “Now with PhD!

  1. Thank you! The diploma is as huge as the tube! In Latin too, with a wax seal, which makes it even more awesome 😉 (check the flickr pics)

Leave a Reply

